Why does Tsem Rinpoche snap his fingers before teaching?

There's No Way But Up

I am not sure if you had noticed this before but I have. Over the years, I have witnessed Rinpoche snapping his fingers just as he ascends onto his teaching throne. You know what’s funny? I used to think it was a signal for us clowns (Rinpoche’s term of endearment for us spiritual infants) to prostrate. Well, that was what I thought for years until I read the true meaning behind the gesture in the Liberation in the Palm of Your Hands or Lamrim Namdrol Lachang by Kyabje Trijang Rinpoche who compiled and wrote this book based on the notes he wrote during a live teaching given by Kyabje Pabongka Rinpoche.

Apparently, Rinpoche had explained that gesture to senior students in the past but I don’t recall that teaching. Anyway, Kechara House was having the Lamrim Recitation Retreat and we were to recite the Lamrim from chapter to chapter and…

View original post 313 more words

