From Booze to Buddha

Through being sure that all scriptures, definitive and Interpretive, were without contradiction,

Advice for one’s person’s practice, he stopped all misconduct:

May the Conqueror Losang’s teachings flourish

I remember growing up with resentment, hurt and jealousy. As my dad’s always abroad for business trips, I’m often left with elder sis and mum. Sis’s the apple of my mum’s eyes, so she always got all the attention whereas for me, i was the wayward child. I remembered vividly as a 16 year old, I had everything and yet i wasn’t happy, and furthermore on a daily basis, i indulged in cigarettes and alcohol starting from Jolly Shandy to Beer to Vodka to Whiskey & to all the hard liquor u can find. But it was never satisfying, it was like a never ending spiraling down path for me. As years of experience with alcoholism, i could never get drunk, never high, just numbing. It made me sleep better.

Every drinking session ends at about 4-5am, by the time i got back home to sleep, i will reek of alcohol & cigarettes.

& i got baptized 3 years ago as a Catholic, it thought me how to be a better person but mentally and actions wise, i didn’t transform. I didn’t attend church on a weekly basis after baptism with family, i would rather cope up in my room doing prayers. I loved my quiet times with God & Mother Mary. For instance, i saw too many followers who would claim they loved a religion, but after saying that, they would speak ill of others immediately. & i was like when did the Higher beings or God taught us to embrace his teachings or quotes like that? I had so many questions but many are left unresolved.

Furthermore, as my business grew, things worsened, i started meeting new people who loved the exact lifestyle i did too. So we would all go drink and make merry till wee hours.

However things changed this year in around July 2012, i couldn’t sleep, i would wake up with nightmarish dreams and in cold sweat. I was sleeping only 2 hours a day & to make matters worst, my best friend was admitted into hospital cause for the month, she was following my lifestyle and i felt that i was the one who caused her to be admitted.

Then I started meeting up with Mark(From MBF) & he introduced me to Tsem Rinpoche blog and his teachings sometime in August 2012. I started watching Tsem Rinpoche’s intriguing videos on Youtube and reading up more about Dharma teachings and how to transform one’s body, mind and speech. & as i go more in depth, i got to know about Lama Tsongkhapa, he is the embodiment of wisdom, compassion and spirituality. I became less temperamental, calmer, having more awareness & started turning down people who would only want to drink and party. I’m able to sleep soundly now at night.

I no longer need to seek solace and refuge in alcohol.

I have finally found My Refuge and Teacher at the age of 28.

Till date, im reciting these 4 mantras(Vajrasattva, Migsetma, Green Tara Mantra & Om Mani Padme Hum) & became a full fledged Vegan. JJ told me to start on Guru Yoga/Gaden Lhagyama, i have been doing it consistently ever since.

Today will mark the day that i quit smoking.

Thank you JJ, Joshua & Mark.

Thank you Tsem Rinpoche, although we have never met before but you have revealed so much knowledge,life lessons and Dharma teachings to me.

Dedication for the Guru’s Long Life

May the holy teachers have long lives.

May the enlightened activities be fully displayed in the ten directions,

& may the brightness of the teachings of Lama Tsongkhapa

Continuously dissipate the veil of darkness covering the beings of the 3 realms.

Image

Gandhi: I am a Muslim and a Hindu and a Christian and a Jew and so are all of you.

One thought on “From Booze to Buddha

  1. You made some decent points there. I checked on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

Comments are closed.